The 2023 ICC World Cup Schedule, Teams Involved, and Venues

Ten teams will be participating in the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. The entire event will see cricket lovers enjoy around 48 matches this year.

The 2023 ICC World Cup Schedule, Teams Involved, and Venues
The 2023 ICC World Cup Schedule, Teams Involved, and Venues
    Follow us on
  • The Sports News Google News
  • The Sports News Telegram

The 2023 ICC World Cup is scheduled to begin on 22nd October and end on 26th November 2023. The quadrennial tournament is among the most awaited events by cricket fans and gamblers who like to bet on cricket matches across the globe.

The ICC World Cup will be the 13th edition, and ten teams will compete to acquire the trophy. Now let’s take an in-depth look at the history, host country, venues, and teams involved in the 2020/2023 ICC World Cup.

India Set to Host the 2023 ICC World Cup Tournament

The ICC World Cup is a men’s international tournament held every four years. The first Cricket World Cup took place in England in 1975, where West Indies won the tournament, with Australia emerging as the runners-up.

The coming ICC World Cup tournament will be hosted entirely by India. The event partially took place in India during the last three competitions the country was involved in organizing the event.

In 1987, the edition took place in India and Pakistan, in 1996, it took place in Sri Lanka, India and Pakistan, and in 2011 the edition was hosted in Bangladesh, India, and Sri Lanka.

Teams Involved in the Coming 2023 ICC World Cup 

Ten teams will be participating in the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup. The entire event will see cricket lovers enjoy around 48 matches this year.

Here is a list of teams that have automatically qualified for the event:

  • Afghanistan 
  • Australia
  • Bangladesh 
  • England 
  • India 
  • New Zealand 
  • Pakistan 
  • West Indies 

2023 Cricket World Cup Venues 

With the ICC world cup scheduled to take place in India, organizers have already picked the venues for matches to take place. Anyone willing to book the tickets can do so online through the official website. Although most tickets are available online, fans can access a few tickets offline. Here are the stadiums’ names and the cities where various matches can take place:

Stadium NameCity
Feroz Shah KotlaDelhi
M ChinnaswamyBangalore
Eden GardensKolkata
SCA StadiumRajkot
Gandhi StadiumGuwahati
MCA StadiumPune
Green Park StadiumKanpur
VCA StadiumNagpur
MA ChidambaramChennai
PCA StadiumMohali
Sardar Patel StadiumAhmedabad
Rajiv Gandhi International StadiumHyderabad

ICC World Cup Format

As stated earlier, ten teams will join this year’s contest in India. As such, this year’s event will follow the 2019 edition format that took place in England and Wales.

The teams will use the round-robin stage, where all teams will play against each other, followed by knockouts.

Each side will earn 2 points after a win in the robin-round stage. If they draw, both teams will earn 1 point each.

After the round-robin stage is complete, the top 4 teams will qualify for the semi-finals finals. The two winners in the semi-final stage will proceed to the finals, where the winning side will be crowned champion.

ICC World Cup Qualifications 2023

This is the first time to use the new process. Therefore teams were allocated to the leagues based on their 2017/2019 ICC rank, ICC member status, and ODI status.

Participants will follow the ICC World Cup Super League to determine the qualifiers. The hosts, India, alongside the top 7 teams in the CWCSL table, will automatically qualify for the tournament.

The remaining teams in the CWCSL table, the top 2 teams from the 2023 World Cup Qualifier Play-off, and the top 3 teams from ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 will contest for the 2023 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. This will determine the two teams to qualify for the world cup.

The teams participating in the World Cup qualification are divided into three leagues: the Super League, League 2, and Challenge League. The Super League has 13 teams, League 2 with seven teams and Challenge League with 12 teams. The teams can either be eliminated from the World Cup Qualifier, qualify directly for the World Cup, or proceed to the supplementary qualifying tournaments.

The supplementary qualifying tournaments can help the teams qualify for the World Cup or determine which teams will be promoted or relegated in the league.


England are the defending champions, having won the previous edition in 2019. Now all eyes are on England, India, and Australia, who seem to be the most serious contenders. England have been among the most consistent white-ball teams and have won the T20 World Cup with Jos Buttler as the captain. On the other hand, Australia have won the World Cup 6 times, and India have the advantage of hosting the tournament.