What You Should Know About the 2022 Vitality Blast

The format of this season is still similar to last year’s. This means that the teams will still be part of the North and South Split.

What You Should Know About the 2022 Vitality Blast
What You Should Know About the 2022 Vitality Blast
Follow Us On

The T20 Blast is one of the most awaited English cricket events each year. It is a T20 cricket competition between English and Welsh cricketers. It started in 2003 and is managed by the England and Wales Cricket Board (ECB).

This year is the 20th season of the T20 Blast and for sponsorship reasons, it is called the Vitality Blast. The 2022 edition already started on May 25 and it is set to run until July 16, 2022. That said, we’re just a few weeks away from the tournament final.

Format and Teams

The format of this season is still similar to last year’s. This means that the teams will still be part of the North and South Split. Each county will play 14 group-stage matches. Seven of these will be home matches while the other sever will be away matched.

Here are the 18 teams playing this season and what group they will belong to.

North Group: 

• Birmingham Bears
• Derbyshire Falcons
• Durham
• Lancashire Lightning
• Leicestershire Foxes
• Northants Steelbacks
• Notts Outlaws
• Worcestershire Rapids
• Yorkshire Vikings

South Group:

• Essex Eagles
• Glamorgan
• Gloucestershire
• Hampshire Hawks
• Kent Spitfires
• Middlesex
• Somerset
• Surrey
• Sussex Sharks

Where to Watch

This year’s T20 Blast will still be broadcasted on Sky Sports Cricket. The live coverage of the matches will start on July 4. The non-televised Vitality Blast matches will then be streamed on ecb.co.uk and the England Cricket app.

Match Results Since May 25

The tournament kicked off with North Group’s Worcestershire Rapids vs Yorkshire Vikings and South Group’s Kent Spitfires vs Somerset. Yorkshire Vikings won by 7 wickets for the North Group while South’s Somerset won by 8 wickets.

Here are the latest North Team standings:

Derbyshire Falcons1170414
Northants Steelbacks1260414
Birmingham Bears1260612
Yorkshire Vikings10514118
Notts Outlaws103067
Worcestershire Rapids101083

Here’s the ladder for the South Group:

Essex Eagles1050411
Hampshire Hawks1050510
Sussex Sharks103076

Upcoming Schedules and Fixtures for North Group

Here are the scheduled matches starting June 17 for the North group and the venues:

June 17:

• Durham vs Yorkshire Vikings – Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
• Leicestershire Foxes vs Worcestershire Rapids – Grace Road, Leicester
• Northants Steelbacks vs Lancashire Lightning – County Cricket Ground, Northampton
• Notts Outlaws vs Birmingham Bears – Trent Bridge Nottingham

June 18:

• Derbyshire Falcons vs Yorkshire Vikings – Queen’s Park, Chesterfield
• Worcestershire Rapids vs Northants Steelbacks – New Road, Worcester

June 19:

• Durham vs Leicestershire Foxes – Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
• Lancashire Lightning vs Notts Outlaws – Stanley Park, Blackpool
• Birmingham Bears vs Derbyshire Falcons – Edgbaston, Birmingham

June 21:

• Derbyshire Falcons vs Northants Steelbacks – County Cricket Ground, Derby
• Notts Outlaws vs Leicestershire Foxes – Trent Bridge, Nottingham

June 22:

• Northants Steelbacks vs Birmingham Bears – County Ground, Northampton

June 23:

• Lancashire Lightning vs Durham – Stanley Park, Blackpool
• Worcestershire Rapids vs Yorkshire Vikings – New Road, Worcester
• Notts Outlaws vs Derbyshire Falcons – Trent Bridge, Nottingham

June 24:

• Durham vs Notts Outlaws – Riverside Ground, Chester-le-Street
• Northants Steelbacks vs Yorkshire Vikings – County Ground, Northampton
• Birmingham Bears vs Worcestershire Rapids – Edgbaston, Birmingham
• Derbyshire Falcons vs Lancashire Lightning – County Cricket Ground, Derby

July 1:

• Worcestershire Rapids vs Lancashire Lightning – New Road, Worcester’
• Leicestershire Foxes vs Northants Steelbacks – Grace Road, Leicester
• Notts Outlaws vs Durham – Trent Bridge, Nottingham
• Yorkshire Vikings vs Birmingham Bears – Headingley, Leeds

For the South Group, here are the upcoming fixtures:

June 17:

• Essex Eagles vs Sussex Sharks – County Ground, Chelmsford
• Hampshire Hawks vs Kent Spitfires – Rose Bowl, Southampton
• Somerset vs Gloucestershire – County Ground, Taunton
• Surrey vs Middlesex – The Oval, London

June 18:

• Gloucestershire vs Glamorgan – County Ground, Bristol

June 19:

• Essex Eagles vs Somerset – County Ground, Chelmsford
• Glamorgan vs Sussex Sharks – Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
• Hampshire Hawks vs Surrey – Rose Bowl, Southampton
• Middlesex vs Kent Spitfires – Lord’s, London

June 21:

• Glamorgan vs Middlesex – Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
• Kent Spitfires vs Gloucestershire – St. Lawrence Ground, Canterbury
• Surrey vs Somerset – The Oval, London

June 23:

• Middlesex vs Essex Eagles – Lord’s London
• Sussex Sharks vs Surrey – County Ground, Hove
• Somerset vs Hampshire Hawks – County Ground, Taunton

June 24:

• Glamorgan vs Somerset – Sophia Gardens, Cardiff
• Gloucestershire vs Hampshire Hawks – County Ground, Bristol
• Essex Eagles vs Surrey – County Cricket Ground, Chelmsford
• Kent Spitfires vs Sussex Sharks – St. Lawrence Ground, Canterbury

July 1:

• Middlesex vs Somerset – Lord’s London
• Surrey vs Kent Spitfires – The Oval, London
• Hampshire Hawks vs Gloucestershire – Rose Bowl, Southampton
• Sussex Sharks vs Essex Eagles – County Ground, Hove

July 2:

• Essex Eagles vs Glamorgan – County Ground, Chelmsford